- Latest News

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

1974 : Germany - Netherlands

The 1974 FIFA World Cup, the tenth staging of the World Cup, was held in West Germany from June 13 to July 7. West Germany had been chosen in July 1966 as hosts by FIFA. The tournament marked the first time that the current trophy, the FIFA World Cup Trophy, created by the Italian sculptor Silvio Gazzaniga, was awarded. The previous trophy, the Jules Rimet Trophy, was won for the third time by Brazil in 1970 and awarded permanently to the Brazilians. The host nation won the title beating the Netherlands in the final, 2-1. The victory was the second for West Germany, who had won in 1954

No comments:

Google Search

Custom Search

Google Search Result