- Latest News

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

1950 : Brazil - Uruguay

The 1950 FIFA World Cup, held in Brazil from June 24 to July 16, was the fourth staging of the World Cup, and the first staged in 12 years due to World War II. Brazil was chosen as the host country by FIFA in July 1946. It was also the first tournament that the trophy itself would be referred to as the Jules Rimet Cup, to mark the 25th anniversary of Rimet's presidency of FIFA. It was won by Uruguay, who had won the inaugural competition in 1930, clinching the cup by beating the hosts Brazil 2-1 in the deciding match of the four-team final group (this was the only tournament not decided by a one-match final).

No comments:

Google Search

Custom Search

Google Search Result